Rose on Fire

Red and I sat at the farthest corner of the hall.
Quietly surveying the bustling masses.
My lemon yellow saree looked so pale next to her fiery scarlet.

‘Did you tell him?’
I asked, throwing a quick glance towards her still-slender middle.

Glassy-eyed, she nodded.

‘And he still left?’ I exploded with holy best-friendsy fury.

Red finally spoke. ‘Let it be.’
Voice calm as an ocean, yet eyes blazing.

Of course, I was in no mood to let it be.
‘It doesn’t matter you know? You’ve got us. Besides, you are the strongest person I know. You don’t need a man.’

‘No.’ She said, softly.

A Rose on Fire.

‘I don’t need a coward.’

Leave a Reply

